she laughs without fear

It’s all about perspective…. January 16, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — pstarliper @ 3:16 am

One sees GREAT things from the valley, only small things from the peak. G.K. Chesterton

I read this today on Pinterest. Isn’t it so true. I immediately pictured NYC. You can stand on street and look up. The buildings look so tall and magnificent. You wonder what things they do in there. There’s probably million or billion dollar deals in the works and the everyone is so smart, the sky’s the limit right?

I’ve only been to NYC once in my life. As you can imagine about a girl from WV it was of course on a bus trip. A one day trip where you leave at the crack of dawn, ride for 5 or 6 hours, run around the city all day and then ride back. WORST IDEA EVER! I don’t do well sleep-deprived. In all seriousness I turn into a cranky toddler. It’s true, ask my husband. So basically what I’m trying to say is, take my view of the city for what it is, naive.

Just as magnificent as that building looks from the ground, imagine now that you’re standing on the top of it. You look down around you and everything looks so tiny. You see people moving around in a way that may look haphazard, like there’s no ryhme or reason to the hustle and bustle. You can’t see the intent or drive people have from that high up. You can’t see hurt on people’s faces from up there, you can’t see people helping each other, you can’t hear the words people are using with one another. Are they kind or hurtful, uplifting or not? It’s like life. What is it we’re saying, what God are we portraying. Is what we’re saying edifying HIM? A lot of times I think we’re indifferent in our speech. We say things in passing that aren’t necessarily hurtful but it’s not uplifting either. I think that might be just as bad, unfortunately.

I think it’s important to be ever aware of not only the words that come from our mouths, but also music we listen to, the videos we post, the movies we watch, or simply the sayings that come out of habit and not out of a thoughtful mind. We need to honor God in these things not because he doesn’t love us if we don’t, but to show we love HIM.

There’s a song:
Lift Jesus higher, lift Jesus higher, lift Him up for the World to see, He said if I be lifted up from the earth, I will draw all men unto me.

I hope that what I put out there in this world both in conversation and online lifts Him higher. Let us edify Him, give Him glory, and not only display a merciful God that forgives when we do wrong but live our lives in such a way that the unmerited favor of God is evident in our grace life style we walk out daily.

 

2 Responses to “It’s all about perspective….”

  1. Stefanie M. Says:

    Beautiful……

  2. Genny Funk Says:

    Thanks so much for sharing this with me . Amanda made me start a blog a couple years ago . just so she would have a record of some of my stories .


Leave a Reply

