she laughs without fear

Proverbs 31:25 October 17, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — pstarliper @ 1:17 am

So once I decided to birth this blog I needed to name it.  I’ve thought about it for the past week.  Thinking of names that played off our last name, trying to come up with something clever.  What I guess I realized is that I’m not that clever. So, today I remembered that back in the summer I came across one of those nice scriptures on Pinterest that someone put on a wall hanging. I commented to my pastor about loving it and I knew I needed to do something with it. So this is it, I guess.  Maybe it’s divine appointment.

Proverbs 31:25 – She is clothed in strength and dignity and she laughs without fear for the future. NLT

The virtuous woman.  Who could live up to that, right? You know I thought for a long time it was about striving to have the characteristics of her. Being the wife I should be, working hard, or sewing my family’s clothes for petes sake.  Get real, it’s 2012! So anyway what I find is that this scripture and the whole Bible, in fact, has little to do with making myself look like anyone, no matter how great they may be. Really it’s about what Christ has accomplished for and in me. Because He did this great work (the cross). I am virtuous because He is virtuous, I am righteousness because He is righteousness, and I am strong because He is strong.  With that in me how could I ever fear the future. My past, my present, and my future are in HIM.

Thank God for that.

 

Leave a Reply

